## BEEF BOARD SEATS NEW MEMBERS, ELECTS LEADERSHIP

CENTENNIAL, Colo. - (February 7, 2006) - The Cattlemen's Beef Board seated new board members and elected officers and representatives for its 2006 Executive Committee and Beef Promotion Operating Committee during its annual meeting in Denver Feb. 1-4, 2006.

In addition, the Beef Board unanimously elected Amarillo, Texas cattleman Jay O'Brien to serve as 2006 chairman of the Board, with outgoing chairman Al Svajgr of Nebraska handing over the gavel as he ended his term. Kansas cattleman Ken Stielow was elected vice chairman, and Dave Bateman of Illinois was elected to serve as secretary/treasurer of the Beef Board for the year. After being appointed by U.S. Secretary of Agriculture in December, a total of 30 Board members were seated for service on the CBB – including 10 reappointments of existing members to a second term and appointment of 20 new members, who accepted the oath of office from USDA representative Kenneth Payne.

New members seated and the states they represent include: Thomas Jones, Arkansas; Ross Jenkins II, California; Roger West, Florida; Tim Shaw, Idaho; Daniel Kerschen and Terry Handke, Kansas; Charles Bassett, Missouri; James Eschliman and Lindy Whipps, Nebraska; Margie Hande, North Dakota; Bob Drake and Andrea Hutchison, Chain Ranch, Oklahoma; Robert Bruner, Daniel Dierschke, Bryant Fisher and Daryl Owen, Texas; Bill Oliver, Virginia; and Ron Allen, John O'Carroll, and David Palmer, importers.

Reappointments and the states they represent include: Carlyle Currier, Colorado; Ken Stielow, Kansas; Charles Miller, Kentucky; Jim Almond, Montana; Pat Woods, New Mexico; Randy Meabon, Pennsylvania; Ed Blair, South Dakota; Sugie Sartwelle, Texas; and Greg Benedict and Kim Holzner, importers.